Return to Parenting at More4kids Looking for something unique? Also Check out our Childrens Personalized Gift Store

 Home » Kids Music » You Are My Little Bird

You Are My Little Bird

  • Buy New: $7.82
  • as of 9/20/2017 10:42 EDT details
In Stock
New (23) Used (26) from $1.99
  • Seller:Denver Books and Gifts
  • Sales Rank:2,451
  • Languages:English (Original Language), English (Unknown)
  • Media:Audio CD
  • Number Of Discs:1
  • Discs:1
  • Shipping Weight (lbs):0.3
  • Dimensions (in):5.6 x 4.9 x 0.4
  • Release Date:August 29, 2006
  • MPN:M10805
  • Model:M10805
  • UPC:093074506325
  • EAN:0093074506325
Availability:Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Full length CD
  • 17 song collection
  • Originally released in 2006

  • Little Liza Jane
  • Who’s My Pretty Little Baby
  • Zousan (Little Elephant)
  • Little Bird, Little Bird
  • Three Little Birds
  • What Goes On
  • Pom Na Tu Ri (Springtime Outing)
  • Buckeye Jim
  • Peace Like a River
  • Los Pollitos (The Little Chicks)
  • Winter’s Come and Gone
  • Little Wing
  • Lily Pond
  • The North Wind
  • If You Listen
  • Down in the Valley
  • Grassy Grass Grass

Editorial Reviews:
You are My Little Bird is a music album where Elizabeth Mitchell's voice brings a fresh sound to cherished American fold songs and other melodies from around the world. In a peaceful yet powerful way, she reintroduces us to the songs we thought we knew so well. Songs include Little Liza Jane, Who's My Pretty Baby, Souzan (Little Elephant), Little Bird, Little Bird, Three Little Birds, What Goes On, Pomp Na To RI (Springtime Outing), Buckeye Jim, Peace Like a River, Los Polios (The Little Chicks), Winter's Come and Gone, Little Wing, Lily Pond, The North Wind, If You Listen, Down in the Valley and Grassy Grass . 17 song collection
Elizabeth Mitchell is to children’s music what a band like True Love is to indie rock: an insider's darling. Which can only mean one thing: any day now, she's going to blow up huge. You Are My Little Bird, Mitchell's third kids’ CD and her first on the well-respected Smithsonian Folkways label, hews closely to the folkie-but-never-hokey sensibility she laid out so beautifully on the first two records. Here are 17 short, soft, sweet, homespun-sounding songs, some of them easily recognizable ("Peace Like a River," "Three Little Birds," "Down in the Valley"), some of them inexplicably obscure (Neil Young's "Little Wing," Gillian Welch and David Rawling's "Winter's Come and Gone," Francois Hardy's magical "If You Listen"). Throughout, even on tracks where her young daughter joins in, Mitchell's warm whisper of a voice compels a close listen, not just because the production is so spare you can practically feel her breath on your cheek but because there's something in her phrasing that suggests an old, wise soul. Miraculously, the bird concept never gets clunky; two exotic foreign-language songs--one Korean and one Japanese--help, but the real credit belongs to this all-around superb disc's sole stab at the subversive: Mitchell's stamp on "What Goes On," the Velvet Underground favorite, practically sails off the disc with its sunniness. --Tammy La Gorce

Thankyou for visiting the More4kids Parenting Store